Top Nursing and Midwifery students awarded at RGU ceremony

The highest achieving nursing and midwifery students in Scotland’s north-east have been recognised for their dedication and professional-mindedness by RGU.

(L to R) Neil Johnson (Academic Strategic Lead, Student Experience and Enhancement), Hazel Evans (BMI Albyn Prize), Maggie Watt (QNIS Award), Dr Elaine Allan (QNIS Fellow), Hawa Ceesay-Faye (QNIS Award), Professor Ian Murray (Head of School), Kirstie Anderson (Mentor of the Year), Mrs Jennie Parry, Samantha Scott (Jennie Parry Prize), Lauren Ferrier (Dr Andrew McKie Award), Kerry Bruce (Lady Bannatyne Award), The Honourable Lady BannatyneRGU’s School of Nursing and Midwifery announced the winners of its annual prizes at a ceremony held in the university’s Health and Social Care building on Wednesday 6 December.

Neil Johnson, the School’s Academic Strategic Lead for Student Experience and Enhancement, hosted the prize-giving event, which has been running for over 10 years, alongside Head of School Professor Ian Murray.

A total of seven awards were handed out this year, including the Mentor of the Year Awards, the Jenny Parry Prize for Clinical and Academic Leadership and the Honourable Lady Bannatyne Prize for Students in the Field of Children and Young People’s Nursing.

The winners for each of the 2017 awards were:

  • Jenny Parry Prize for Clinical and Academic Excellence – Samantha Scott
  • The Queen’s Nursing Institute Scotland Post Registration Award – Maggie Watt
  • The Queen’s Nursing Institute Scotland Pre Registration Award – Hawa Ceesay-Faye
  • The Honourable Lady Bannatyne Prize for Students in the Field of Children and Young People’s Nursing – Kerry Bruce
  • Dr Andrew McKie Memorial Quaich for Mental Health Nursing – Lauren Ferrier
  • BMI Albyn Hospital Prize for Clinical Excellence in Adult Nursing – Hazel Evans
  • The Mentor of the Year – Kirstie Anderson, community children’s nurse, based in Lerwick (Nominated by students for providing exceptional support during practice learning)

Neil Johnson said: “These annual awards showcase the commitment and hard work that each individual has applied in not only achieving excellence in learning, but also in promoting excellence in quality care within their chosen field of practice.

“They also reflect the high standards of support and effort provided by academic staff within the School and by the mentors and educators who support our students in practice learning environments.

“All of us in the School of Nursing and Midwifery are dedicated to producing patient-focused, capable and highly employable graduates, with the skills and professionalism required to succeed. We are proud of all of our students and days like today give us an opportunity to celebrate their success.”


Release by Jonathon Milne
Communications Officer
Press and Media Enquiries